ARCTIC STATES

Permanent participants of the Arctic Council

aia-sq
Aleut International Association (AIA)
aac_fixed_200px
Arctic Athabaskan Council (AAC)
gci-sq
Gwich’in Council International – GCI
icc
Inuit Circumpolar Council (ICC)
raipon.info
Russian Association of Indigenous Peoples of the North (RAIPON)
saami-sq
Saami Council

Indigenous peoples of the United States

Indigenous Peoples in Alaska include the Aleut, Alutiiq, Yup’ik, Iñupiaq (Northwest Alaskan Inuit), Athabaskan, Tlingit and Haida. Of these peoples, the Yup’ik, Athabaskans and Iñupiaq live above the Arctic Circle and rely heavily on subsistence hunting and fishing. Approximately 18 percent of the Alaskan population are Indigenous.

The United States became an Arctic nation upon the purchase of Alaska in 1867. Regions above the Arctic Circle include the North Slope Borough, the Northwest Arctic Borough and the Nome Census area. Alaska is the largest and the least densely populated state in the United States. The state has approximately 737,400 inhabitants, over half of whom reside in the two major cities Anchorage and Fairbanks.

Petroleum production and mining have been major industries in Alaska. Other prominent industries include fishing and tourism, which are of rising importance and demand. Nearly two million people travel to Alaska each year to visit its vast glaciers, mountains and wildlife.

The United States has varied interests in the Arctic, including national and homeland security, environmental protection, sustainable development, promoting cooperation and collaboration with the other Arctic nations, involving Indigenous peoples in decisions that affect them and supporting and promoting scientific research across the region. The country’s goal is a secure and stable region free of conflict where its interests are safeguarded, its homeland is protected and Arctic States work cooperatively to address shared challenges. The United States Arctic policy was most recently updated in May of 2013 and supports the 2009 National Security Presidential Directive-66 / Homeland Security Presidential Directive-25.

СТРАНЫ АРКТИЧЕСКОГО СОВЕТА

Постоянные Участники Арктического совета

aia-sq
Международная ассоциация алеутов (AIA)
aac_fixed_200px
Арктический совет атабасков (AAC)
gci-sq
Международный совет Гвичинов (GCI)
icc
Циркумполярный совет инуитов (ICC)
raipon.info
Ассоциация коренных малочисленных народов Севера, Сибири и Дальнего Востока (АКМНСС И ДВ)
saami-sq
Союз Саамов

Коренные народы Соединенных штатов

К коренным народам Аляски относятся алеуты, алутиики, юпикские народы, инупиаты (инуиты северо-западной Аляски), атабаски, тлинкиты и народ хайда. Юпикские народы, атабаски и инупиаты живут за полярным кругом и в значительной степени зависят от охоты и рыболовства. Приблизительно 18 процентов населения Аляски составляют коренные жители.

Соединенные Штаты стали арктической страной после покупки Аляски в 1867 году. К регионам за Полярным кругом относятся боро Норт-Слоуп, Северо-Западный Арктический округ и зона переписи населения Ном. Аляска – самый крупный и наименее густонаселенный штат США. В штате около 737 400 жителей, более половины из которых проживают в двух крупных городах Анкоридж и Фэрбанкс.

Нефтедобыча и горнодобывающая промышленность были основными отраслями промышленности на Аляске. Другие известные отрасли включают рыболовство и туризм, важность и спрос на которые растет. Почти два миллиона человек ежегодно приезжают на Аляску, с целью посетить ее огромные ледники, горы и дикую природу.

Соединенные Штаты имеют различные интересы в Арктике, включая национальную безопасность и безопасность страны, защиту окружающей среды, устойчивое развитие, содействие сотрудничеству с другими арктическими странами, вовлечение коренных народов в принятие решений, которые их затрагивают, а также поддержку и продвижение научных исследований во всем регионе. Цель США в Арктике – создать безопасный и стабильный регион, свободный от конфликтов, в котором защищены интересы государства, родина находится под защитой, а арктические государства совместно работают над решением общих проблем. Последний раз арктическая политика Соединенных Штатов была обновлена в мае 2013 г. и соответствует Президентской директиве №66 по национальной безопасности 2009 г./ Президентской директиве №25 о внутренней безопасности.